International Advisory Board

Two international prominent scholars in research policy constitute the IAB.

Diana Hicks, Professor, School of Public Policy, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta.

Dr. Diana Hicks is Professor in the School of Public Policy, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA, USA specializing in metrics for science and technology policy. She was the first author on the Leiden Manifesto for research metrics published in Nature which has been translated into eleven languages, see Her work has been supported by and has informed policy makers in the U.S., Europe and Japan. She has advised the OECD and the governments of Flanders, the Czech Republic and Sweden on national research evaluation systems. She chaired the School of Public Policy for 10 years from 2003. She co-chairs the international Atlanta Conference on Science and Innovation Policy and is an editor of Research Evaluation. As Senior Policy Analyst at CHI Research between 1998 and 2003 she conducted policy analyses for Federal research agencies using patent and paper databases. Prof. Hicks has also taught at the Haas School of Business at the University of California, Berkeley; SPRU, University of Sussex, and worked at the National Institute of Science and Technology Policy (NISTEP) in Tokyo. Dr. Hicks earned her D.Phil and M.Sc. from SPRU, University of Sussex.

Ben Martin, Professor, SPRU, University of Sussex.

Professor Ben Martin studied physics as an undergraduate at Cambridge and science policy as a postgraduate at Manchester. He has carried out research for 30 years in the field of science policy, serving as the Principal Investigator or Project Leader on over 50 research projects and commissioned studies. He has contributed to establish techniques for evaluating scientific laboratories, research programmes and national scientific performance and was one of the pioneers of the notion of ‘technology foresight’. More recently, he has carried out research on the benefits from government funding of basic research, the changing nature and role of the university, the impact of the Research Assessment Exercise, the evolution of the field of science policy and innovation studies and the future challenges it faces, research integrity and misconduct, and the organisation and management of universities. Since 2004, Prof. Martin has been Editor of Research Policy, the leading journal in the field of innovation studies. In 1997, John Irvine and he were the winners of the de Solla Price Medal for Science Studies.